Least Favorites vs. Favorites

One of my least favorite Dylan songs is “Visions of Johanna.”  This song is definitely a favorite of many Dylan lovers; however, I find its sound and lyrical structure to be twisted.  I prefer more of Dylan’s straightforward lyrics and simpler melodies.  In the Rolling Stone top 500, it is ranked 404.  Again, it is liked by many—maybe because of its uniqueness and mysterious lyrics; however, I am definitely one who prefers a more direct message.

A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall” is another one of my least favorite songs.  I find the melody of the song to be ridiculously annoying.  I swear, because of that, I ALWAYS get the song stuck in my head every time I hear it.  The constant use of numbers in the song also distracts me.  I become annoyed by that, and it diverts me from the meaning of the song.  I do understand the nature of the song; it was written around the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis, so the song became relevant to that time period.  Interestingly, most people I know how love this song were alive during that time period.  I just don’t think I will ever understand that.

“Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” is definitely one of my favorite Bob Dylan songs.  I know it sounds cliché (as most people would pick this), but I do enjoy it.  For me, I am not the biggest Dylan fan.  I do not find his voice very appealing at all; however, this song does seem to have one of his best vocal performances.  This is probably one of the reasons for this song’s popularity.  This is evident by its ranking in the Rolling Stone top 500.  At number 190, “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” is definitely a hit.

The popularity of the song is also obvious due to the number of artists that have covered this song.  The lyrics are relatable, and it touches on the subject of religion, which is an area many people do not speak about openly.  I think many people enjoy the mystery in the song.

Another song I really enjoy is “Forever Young.”  Again, this song is a favorite of many, but I think its timeless nature is great.  The lyrics are cheerful, raw, and young spirited.  Most of the time, I find that many of his songs involve complaining.  Also, many times, when he is quoted (or in Tarantula), he is sarcastic.  This song shows a different side of Dylan, showing his sensitivity.  This is something I definitely appreciate.  I wanted to know more about the song, and I found this explanation:

“After an eight year break from touring, Dylan’s legend was big enough to fit all twelve apostles and still have room for a couple of Buddhas. He agreed to go back on the road in 1974 with The Band, his old backup group who had become stars themselves during the down time. They got together and quickly knocked off an album, Planet Waves, which featured two versions of a blessing from a parent to a child. In the years he was away from stage, Dylan had become a father. He had that in common with a good chunk of the audience. The song reflected it. It was memorably recited on American tv by Howard Cosell when Muhammad Ali won the heavyweight crown for the third time.”

-Kathleen

~ by kcarper817 on December 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
